Nightmare!

Today was the day I was to go over to Peterborough to fetch my missing camera. I went off and caught the train - it's the same one I catch for Metheringham, but I went to the end of the line today.

Once I arrived at the station, I asked about getting my camera back. I had a code number which I'd put in my phone. Unfortunately my phone was in the shop! They still managed to find my camera though and I was very happy to be reunited with it.

Off I went into the city to take photos, via a visit to one of those loos that charges you 20p. I went around the cathedral area for photos then off to Pret a Manger for lunch. When I went to pay for my salad - my purse was gone! I knew I'd had it, and put it back in my bag in the toilets - I remember doing it! 

Whilst taking photos, I switched between sunglasses and actual glasses a few times, and didn't properly zip up my bag - I think some opportunist saw I was distracted by taking photos, and helped themself! All my cash, cards and train ticket too - gone! And my phone was in the shop!

Fortunately the current book I'm reading is on my Kindle so I was able to use that to contact Brian, via the shopping mall's rather inadequate Wi-Fi! I got some strange looks, wandering around with my tablet trying to get a connection! 

Fortunately for me, his boss allowed him out to fetch me - otherwise I'd have been stuck there until about 6 PM, with no food or drink. I had luckily taken a bottle of water from home, and was given another at the station - the staff were handing them out to everyone due to the heat.

Brian picked me up at about 3:30 PM and we called at a service station on the way back where I wolfed down a tuna baguette and a drink!

Once home came the stressful business of cancelling all the credit cards etc. such a lot of code numbers, and information to recall when already stressed! I am so glad it is all done now!

My photo shows the fountains and the cathedral in Peterborough, and the extra is my favourite photo from today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.