Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Centenary Square, Birmingham

The square has been a building site for quite some time and the work on the extension to the Metro is still going on up Broad Street, but finally it is beginning to take shape.  I tried to get in early, before the crowds would descend but imagine my frustration when I saw the train pulling out of the local station early! It's not as though there is anyone to complain to, even a phone number is difficult to find these days; in the end I resorted to Facebook and Twitter to complain.

When I arrived a small number of people were taking advantage of the cooling waters of this new feature.  A feat of engineering, it is about 2/3rds the size of a football (U.S.=soccer) pitch and the water is never more than an inch deep.  Given the previous use of this area at Christmas as a skating rink, I began to wonder if there was a master plan here.  I somehow doubt it and I can imagine that as soon as the cold weather arrives the water will be drained.

I spent about 3/4 of an hour around the square capturing the street scene.  Unfortunately, my sense is that posting any of the images of the children having fun is inappropriate, particularly as many of them were in various states of disrobe.  It's a sign of the times that we need to consider these things.  I decided to err on the side of caution.  I did choose one extra, as I thought it typified how some people were using the space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.