Via Ferrata

We drove up to Skuleberget and Alex was really looking forward to climbing. His Dad has an injured foot and can't climb today, and his Mum is not interested in climbing, but Alex was happy to climb on his own. We were all a bit shocked when the instructor said you had to be 18 to climb on your own, though when he said that it was suddenly obvious.
A quick conference and I became the responsible adult who would climb with Alex.  I'd done the Red Route before so we went for that one, even though it's one of the more difficult routes.. I perhaps should have thought that it's 15 years since I'd climbed that route, or that I wasn't expecting to climb, so my only food that day had been a small bowl of breakfast cereal.  In any case I was quickly out of energy and Alex spent a lot of time waiting for me to catch up, but he was very reasonable about it.
Once we reach the top his Mum and Dad are waiting and I eat a couple of bananas and feel my energy returning.
As always the view from the top (extra) makes the effort of getting there worthwhile.
On the way home we stop to swim and wash away the sweat of our climb or walk up the mountain. The hot weather seems to have arrived.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.