I Was Stumped . . .

. . . to know what to blip today, but I got the seal of approval from Mrs W which warmed the cockles of my heart.  What’s more she found a heap of dereliction which she insisted was ideal for a Sunday . . .
 
And if you believe that lot . . .
 
 
Today we went on the Boston Belle RSPB Birdwatching cruise.  It takes you from Boston Marina, down the Haven to The Wash, and back via the river Welland (no shortcuts – in and back out again!).
 
 
As we chugged out the ‘RSPB spotter’ was pointing out the Blue Tits, and Sparrows, and Blackbirds etc around the quayside housing, I was busy photographing the dockside, and water outlets, and churches on the other side of the river.
 
To be honest I did not have a great photographic day, and none of my bird shots taken through the windows from inside the boat were worth keeping.  The seals were the best of a bad bunch and are at ‘extras’.  All of the shots needed a lot of ‘developing’ to get anything like a reasonable image.
 
We won’t talk about the heat . . .
 
 
So what do we have?
 
The blip is of a completely derelict hut spotted by Mrs W as we returned to Boston, and I was told that as she had found it I must enter it for Derelict Sunday.  Who am I to argue . . .
 
Now I’ll try and cover the extras in order, at least I’ll try to upload them in order, but if I get that wrong I’m sure you will understand . . .
 
1 - Collage of the Port of Boston harbour side with a cockle factory spewing out spent cockleshells into trailers, and a cockle trawler chugging round in circles working in the wash. The ‘tree-line’ on the horizon is a mirage.
 
2 – The Boston Stump, seen as we were leaving the Marina.
 
3 – St Nicholas Church at Skirbeck.  Apparently the oldest church in Lincolnshire, but I’m not sure about that.
 
4 – A surface water drain pouring out into the river.  It just caught my photographic eye.
 
5 – Seals bobbing about in the water – I missed the big splash as the all dived in.
 
6 – Seals sunbathing after their dip in the water.
 
 
 
Thanks to 60p for hosting Derelict Sunday.
 
Thanks to the RSPB South Lincolnshire and the Boston Belle for organising such a great trip.


ps - this was our third attempt to go on this trip . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.