Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

It's all about the Bass

Earlier in the week, when I saw the weather forecast for the days ahead, I went online and booked a trip on the Seabird Catamaran Cruise out of North Berwick, then did the same for a return rail journey between Camelon and North Berwick. And so, on the hottest day of the year, I went on a welcome trip to the seaside.

Thoroughly enjoyed my wee day out. My one-hour boat trip was most enjoyable, although a bit of a breeze had blown up by the time we sailed.

We headed first to Bass Rock (pictured), which has the largest colony of Northern Gannets in the world - 75,000 nesting pairs we were told - and then over to the island of Craigleith, which has a variety of wildlife, including seals and puffins. Saw some seals basking on a rock and lots of puffins, in the water, in the air and on the island itself. It was a fine sight to behold.

Sadly, none of my puffin photos turned out great (see extra) but that just gives me an excuse to do the trip again - maybe next year as they are about to fly off over the next few weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.