Bedroom update

As usual, I am keeping Jon busy with house jobs. He says after the bedroom wardrobe, he needs a break for a while. I’m not sure he means it - after all, he hasn’t had a break in the last 30 years - what would he do with himself. Don’t tell him, but the kitchen is next on my list!

Here we see the first stage before and after photos. If you can imagine the wardrobe in Henry’s room backs on to our bedroom (bottom left)Jon cut through one skin last weekend, from inside the wardrobe. Today he opened the space up in our bedroom (top left and right). Obviously there is work to do, but he knows what he is doing and I have every faith in him! Our existing wardrobe will then go (it’s about to fall apart anyway) and the chest of drawers seen here, will take its place at the foot of the bed. Our new bed should come this week, so we are going to take the existing one apart tomorrow and sleep on the mattress on the floor until it arrives. It’s quite exciting. Our first ever brand new bed (our old one was £60 from a secondhand shop in Hoddesdon in 1988, and is now 100 years old!) I love the old one, because it has character, but am ready to let it go, in the name of comfort.

I went to the allotment first thing and dug up my shallots (which haven’t done very well this year) We are going to eat them tomorrow on chicken kebabs as we hope to have a bbq in the afternoon with mum and dad.

Mollie, Jon and I went to Holt for a mooch and a coffee. Both Mollie and I bought something in the charity shop. Mollie got a very nice lightweight jacket in excellent condition for £7.50 and I got a White Stuff blouse for £6.50 which seems hardly worn. We were both pleased. Jon bought the coffee!! I resisted the cake, but had a quarter of Jons toasted tea cake. My diet falls apart at weekends!

The rest of the day, I’ve been ironing all afternoon. I watched Wallace and Gromit The Wrong Trousers, then Madagascar 2. I still have more to do during The Archers tomorrow.

The other major occurrence of the day. The loveliest girl came to collect the Bearded Dragon. She has kindly agreed to give our dragon a home, with her own dragon and cats! I know she is going to be loved and looked after by her new owner, so it was comforting to know she is going to a good home. Now we have space to knock through from the dining room to the garage so that we can access the cloakroom. I think we will try to find a builder to do it.

I cooked eggs bread, bacon and beans for tea with Henry’s help.

Now I’m watching a film and think I’ll sew my new badges onto my camp blanket!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.