What ever happened to Saturday Night?

It seems like a dream now, it was so long ago
The moon burned so bright and the time went so slow
And I swore that I loved her and gave her a ring
The bluebird was high on the wing

What ever happened to Saturday Night?   The Eagles

Our Saturday nights are quiet and uneventful these days; watching something like Inspector Montalbano or The Repair Shop on catchup is a routine that we have become comfortable with.  Tonight we break from that routine - and comfort - by spending the evening in a pub watching our friend David and his new band.  It’s an education, in many ways.

We find a table and I grab a quick phone blip of David’s wife and son watching as they set up.  The drummer is doing his sound check and it’s deafening.  There’s a couple decidely older than us, sitting nearby. I glance at the old chap - we both raise our eyebrows in recognition at the sound of someone building a shed.

I’ve not seen David’s band before so I’ve no idea of what to expect. His wife joins us and says “are you going to be alright?   It’s not the sort of stuff you play.”  

“Of course” I say, not really sure if that’s true or not. 

The pub starts to fill as the band makes a start.  Some young, some old, but mainly men and women in their 40s and 50s, I guess.  They’re all dressed up and many seem to know each other.  The men stand round the bar talking while the women stand in groups, talking and watching the band.

The music - mainly 70s and 80s top ten hits - belts out at a frantic pace.  By 10.00 o’clock the place is packed - it’s noisy and condensation is running down the window panes.  The women are dancing with each other - the men are singing along - the bar staff are singing and dancing.  Even the old couple next to us join in on ‘I would walk 500 miles’.  Though I not sure they actually could.

It suddenly strikes me - everyone in this room is happy.  Really happy.  Anniemay notices it too.   Despite all the fear and hate and injustice going on in the world, in this small pub, in this small town, there is a precious pocket of pure joy. 

Alcohol plays a part, for sure, as does being with friends.  But it’s the music that has everyone - friends and strangers alike - smiling at each other and singing along.  

I say all this to Anniemay.  She smiles; “When was the last time you were in a pub on a Saturday night?”  

I can’t remember - it seems like a dream now, it was so long ago....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.