K9tam

By K9tam

Dismal.

Jodie and Hayley bought me a photography walk in Manchester for my birthday back in April. I've been looking  forward to it as I love Manchester, I was a bit worried how my poorly foot would hold up, but I was determined to go.

As I mentioned yesterday it rained all the way up, all evening and ALL night! I've never seen so much continuous rain. Apparently half a months average rainfall fell in just 24 hours. Set the alarm early - Walked the dogs - We got soaked, absolutely soaked - Caught the 9.01 train (Left hand pic) into the centre, met at the arranged meeting place, there were 4 of us who turned up, only to find the walk had been cancelled, rightly so as the forecast was for more rain. Hopefully I'll be able to make the rearranged date, whenever that will be.

The second photo is a fairly new statue outside Manchester Piccadilly railway station. It's of seven blinded First World War soldiers  marching,  each one has a hand on the shoulder of the soldier in front. The statue was commissioned by the military charity 'Victory Over Blindness'.

I was particularly touched by this as my Grandfather lost an eye in WW1. And my Father went blind in later life, not a war injury, but he was so well supported by Blind Veterans UK, which was known at the time as St Dunstan's. He was at St Dunstan's in Brighton when he passed away. Every year we would march at the Cenotaph on Remembrance Sunday.

So, these two phone pictures were the sum total of the photos I took today, a day I should have taken lots round Manchester. Altogether a dismal day and a dismal drive home, I think just about every car in the country was on the road today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.