Run to you

I had a decent sleep as the stadium behind my apartment mercifully had a night off pumping rock music into the still Maputo night (after some godawful karaoke had ended around 10pm).

I was awoken from slumber by a neighbour booming out Run To You from an open window that I couldn’t locate. It wasn’t the worst song with which to start a Saturday and the next track, Where Do Broken Hearts Go, is surprisingly good at getting the adrenaline pumping, if anyone reading this ever needs a boost to jump out of bed of a morning.

Last night I watched a very useful talk about resilience, stress and work/life balance. The presenter explained that many of us are victims of a stressed out working culture with a serious inability to operate at a relaxed pace without viewing it as wasted time. For example, two minutes spent brushing teeth should be just two minutes brushing teeth, not a time to be reading a work email or having separation anxiety from one’s phone. I certainly suffer from this ridiculous scenario on most days. The very sensible advice from this talk should be rewatched regularly until bad habits are hammered out.

I trundled around on some errands then planted myself in a café for most of the afternoon, enjoying the sun and reading an interesting book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.