A POSH DO

Stayed in today and got on with a few chores including the ironing.  The weather was very dull - just like my day really.

While I was doing a bit of a sort out in one of the spare rooms I came across this souvenir programme from the Surrey County Rugby Football Club Diamond Jubilee Dinner which was held on 27th February 1939.  Thought it was vaguely interesting enough to use as an " Emergency Blip".

Apart from the food and entertainment there were also speeches from the President of Surrey RFU and the President of the RFU. The programme is decorated with some rugby themed cartoons and I have included a couple in my collage. I wonder if those attending had any idea that a few months later Great Britain would be at war again.

Sorry the quality of the photos is poor - the red ink doesn't show up very well as it has faded over the years.

Musical link The SURREY With The Fringe On Top from Oklahoma.

Steps today - 6,318

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.