Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Tracks

A bit of help needed with my bird identification please!

Don't know whether this is a juvenile Common, Black-backed, Herring or some other gull? Answers below would be appreciated, thanks.


Sunday morning at church. A baptism of two young children with lots of guests meant for a busy, but rather noisy, service. It didn't help that the sound system packed in just as the minister was starting, meaning that, no matter how hard she projected - and being a former singer and actor that's something she is good at - much of what she said was lost in the general hubbub of children fidgeting and crying, adults chatting, etc. But it was good to see the church almost full and that some parents still want their children baptised.

Sunday afternoon and back at church. This time not for a service, though. We open our doors to visitors during the summer months and I was on duty with a couple of my colleagues. Turns out the sound system fault was caused by a blown fuse in the amp.

And so I decided a walk to stretch the legs and clear my head was needed in the evening. Took myself over to Bo'ness for a walk along the Foreshore. The tide was quite far out, and so most of the birds were also some distance away from the Foreshore path. Only had my 'point-and-shoot' camera with me, so everything was taken on the zoom lens of that. A few curlews, black-headed gulls (juveniles and adults), common gulls and possibly (though I'm not certain) herring gulls. I've added a couple of extras, both of which I have identified!

It may have just been a walk along the Foreshore and back, but it did the trick. Home for tea, a glass of wine, then dozed off on the couch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.