Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Butterflies!

Took Archie up the hill in the morning, before the expected rain. It was warm and muggy. We met lots of dogs, and he did lots of running around.

I took him round the block in the afternoon, but actually popped in for a coffee to the café. Met Rufus and his mum there, and she told me to check out the buddleia round the corner, which was FULL of butterflies ( I have now learned that they are 'painted ladies') I did and it was! Archie waited patiently while I fiddled around for ages, getting a butterfly framed just as it flew off. But I’ve hardly seen any butterflies this summer. Should get a buddleiia plant.

At gin o’clock time, Rufus and his mum and another neighbour popped in for drinkies and nibbles, which was nice. And I discovered they were both big fans of Scottish folk music, so I put on a few of my favourites. The volume may have gone up a bit...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.