Yockenthwaite

I've cycled past this gorgeous post box a number of times but always had a photo in the bag that I'd rather use from one of the valleys further afield.  Today, Sarah and I started a beautiful circular walk from here.

Anyone who's watched the Rottentrolls (a 1996-2000 children's prog) might know the name of this tiny place. Yockenthwaite is a loveable and daft troll named after this hamlet.  He's great at map reading but rubbish at maths. His favourite song is Ten Thousand in the Bed which I might try as one of my cycling songs when I'm too toast to pedal - you never know, it might get me the two hours (and a bit) home from here.

We stayed amazingly dry. There were thunderstorms forecast but we weren't in a deluge until making our way back to the car after stopping at a cafe on the way home. Flash floods across the roads and the hugest raindrops on the windscreen I've ever seen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.