Epic

I’ve meandered through Wharfedale around Littondale, along Wensleydale and up and over into Swaledale. 

But not on my bike.

I’ve had a morning of photography and chatting to people, generally about the impacts of the heatwave on local life and business. I even dropped into the Wensleydale Creamery for the first time (and did eat a spot of cheese!)

It was supposed to rain over lunch but it didn’t arrive so I kept on with my tour, lacking food and drink for a bit longer, finally getting to my campsite about two. 

With my bike on the back, of course, I had a swift breakfast for lunch and headed on out to Reeth, up over Stang Lane and looped back round. It was less than 30miles but frightfully hilly with some gnarly bits of tarmac on the run back. I managed to only hit a few spots of rain near the top of The Stang but my greatest success was missing the torrential downpour by moments as I arrived back at the van to the advance warning of heavy droplets.  

This was the cloud I left standing as I chased down the hill behind these trees. 

I’ve had an interesting chat with the farmer who owns the campsite, fed myself silly and had lots of cups of peppermint tea. I’m now feeling rather jaded and it’s only twenty to eight. 

Who’s going to notice if I set my bed up for the night?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.