Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Not so Tiny

This gorgeous (and slightly intimidating) creature is a Great Golden Digger Wasp, one of the colony that nests along our walkway (much to Hubs' and SIl's horror).  As for me...well, I kind of love having them buzz around as I potter in the garden by their nests.  I know they won't sting me, unless I step on one or grab her in hand and give her a squeeze (which no one in their right mind would do).  This is a female and she is a bit over an inch long.  My little colony is just about done with their nesting cycle and now the females are mostly just spending time nectaring.  

Funny story.  A week or so ago I was watching one of them bringing a katydid back to her nest (her larva will feed on it as they grow - yuck).  Diggers always leave their prey insect outside their burrow, go inside to check that everything is just so, then come out and take their catch into the burrow.  Well, this female kept going in the burrow and coming out again, over and over and over.  Finally she was down there quite a while (while I hovered mere inches from the burrow, watching intently).  When she reappeared, she had what at first looked like a clump of mud that she was hauling out gripped in her strong forelegs.  Well, it wasn't a clump of mud at all - it was a very small baby American Toad who apparently though he'd found the perfect place to tuck in for the day...until he found himself being hauled out head first!  He was unharmed, although probably traumatized.  I captured him and tucked him safely under a bunch of hostas.  Chuckling the entire time.  Speaks to the nature of the wasp that the  toad was unharmed.  

Gym again today - 55 minutes on the treadmill.  I also dropped off two framed prints that I am entering in an exhibition of "artists" over 60.  The exhibition opens next week so Hubs and I will go. 

I also released one perfect male monarch this morning, in memory of my dear friend Pete Bacinski who passed away so suddenly this April.  He was a big presence in the birding world, as well as botany and butterflies.  Last year I released three monarchs for people he'd lost; it was with a heavy heart that I released one for him today.  See Extra.

Have a bird club board meeting tonight then rushing home to watch round two of the Democratic Presidential debates on the telly.

Thanks to Osuzanna for hosting TinyTuesday

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.