If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Sparrowhawk (Accipiter nisus)

This afternoon Clickychick was on the phone and I was listening to music with my headphones on.   There was a tap on my shoulder and frantic gesticulation out of the window.  Must be something important so up I get and have a look.  No can't see anything.

I am turning away and the gesticulating gets more frantic.  I had better look more closely.  Then I spotted this Male Sparrowhawk sitting on the top of the Squirrel feeder post, using it as a plucking post.  I suspect one of this year's fledgling Blue Tits had become lunch.

Talking to CC afterwards it seems he had circled the garden a couple of times and actually landed on top of the bird feeders.  How he caught anything after such a fly past I really don't know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.