Kipsie

By Kipsie

I know you're there ....

That's what I was thinking this morning after I spotted this moth fly up and land on the bark of the tree, but I needed to get the brake flicked on Ella's extending lead, step on it, put the doggy bag down, & get my camera out of the case, praying that it would'nt decide to up and away while I was faffing.  The camouflage so brilliant that it took me a while to locate it again once I was ready to take a pic ... This was option 5 taken during Ella's morning bimble, she had a real spring in her step this morning, whether it was because it was cooler I don't know but she is amazing considering she's coming up to 17 years of age. Oh, and I managed to finish cleaning around her eyes while she was still half asleep when I first got up from bed. I was really pleased to have done that.
I spotted a beautiful hydrangea head yesterday while walking Ella, & thought it would make a fine subject for Tiny Tuesday, so on the same route this morning I first noticed a mound of moss growing on the pavement so while Ella was sniffing about I snapped a few images, next the hydrangea over the garden wall, but the wind was blowing a hooley making it impossible to get a good macro shot. Then a cute snail moving along the stem of a dead plant, but as soon as I tried to move some leaves to one side to get a good shot, so the head disappeared inside the shell. Further along a colourful clump of Euphorbia palustris with water droplets, now on the home stretch I spotted this tiny moth which is possibly Xanthorhoe fluctuata - Garden Carpet moth, so many look similar so it is only a guess.
Ella exercised it was time to head back to Chudders, grabbing milk & bread for mum and dropping it off along the way. At home all was tickety boo. :) Hubby had been painting some of the partition garden fencing panels, they looked better for a lick of paint. All the plants looked very happy after the rain last night, & my pea & wing bean seeds have all germinated and ready for transplanting onto the allotment when I get back. Lunch with hubby then off to check if my runner bean wigwams were still upright, they were but rocking a bit in the wind  so hammered in some metal stakes to tie them to for support. Next, the borlotti beans needed propping with a low band of twine. The plants are quite lax in habit. The flowers are forming but they are way slower than the runner bean plants which are right at the top of the canes now. I picked another 21/2lb this afternoon. The white flowered variety is producing far better beans, of course I don't know the variety because I rescued the seed pods of the allotment heap last autumn. Typical! Checked on the pumpkins & squash plants. Cut another 2 courgettes, a bunch of sweet peas and the last pea pods. Just about to head off when I spotted one of the allotment newbies, so when across for a chat .. Julie has taken on an overgrown neglected grassy patch, but it was working really hard to get it cleaned up and planted. She's sharing it with her daughter. She's trying to grow without pesticides & herbicides but admits it's not easy with all the critters etc. She pulled me a few long white radish to bring back, I promised her some wing bean plants to have a go at growing. She's vegetarian s always looking for new veggies to experiment with. I gave her the bunch of sweet peas I'd just picked as I already have some here in a vase. Then it was time to get back to Ella. She was fast asleep. :)
I got myself settled with a cuppa, a colander plus newspaper and stringed teh beans while watching Tipping Point, then The Chase. # contestants won £75,000 between them on tonight's show. The largest amount of money I have ever seen won on the show. What an amazing feeling that must be.
Nicky's tomato plants were rocking in the wind, which seemed to have picked up speed, so nipped outside and got them sorted, then picked the tomatoes in the greenhouse, a small semi plum shaped variety but the trusses are enormous, too many to eat, so I did the same as I did last year when I was here looking after Ella. I halved them , laid them on a baking tray, with garlic cloves, cubes of aubergine, courgette, & slices of sweet pepper, drizzled with olive oil, & fresh rosemary then  roasted them on a very low heat. Now I'll pop them in a jar, cover with olive oil and use on pizza's, add to pasta sauces, or just eat them cold with antipasti. Ella & I had sausages for dinner. She was a very happy little dog :)
Now time for bed.
Thanks to osuzanna for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.