It’s really one of those days...

UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE: I come back from the dentist this afternoon, to a front garden absolutely full of hundreds of Painted Lady Butterflies. Here is one...

Then carry on reading below how I had written my post this morning....the original painting is now in extras.


....Oh boy.

I had a nap after waking initially at 4:45 am earlier. Had a hot drink.

Then had a nightmare that I was in hospital and my bed was sinking in the muddy floor because it had flooded. The room was like quicksand. I managed to get out. Someone was serving food, lovely food, delicious food. But then the lights went out. Darkness.

So I woke up. I went to turn the light on. It was 6:45. A very grey day outside. The light didn’t come on. Oh no. Armageddon?

Went to electric mains switch. It was on. Went online on my phone for my area. No power cut reported. So got dressed. A quick wash in cold water. And was going out at 7:15 to ask a neighbour. But cat wanted feeding. Came in. Fed cat. Checked for power outages again. And now the fault has been reported. Maybe mid morning it will come back.

But I am hungry now. I have some lovely mince in the fridge to cook...but I cannot open fridge nor cook...no power.

I know I thought. Brilliant idea. I will go to Wetherspoons for my brekkie. Hang on but what is the post code for Wetherspoons? Cos last time we had a massive power outage for hours they were affected. As well as other cafes and food shops affected. Got their postcode. Checked. They are in the power outage too. Sigh.....

Where’s the nearest next Wetherspoons? Oh boy, this would be a 20 mile round trip...

Boo hoo, and I am hungry. I am never hungry. I never feel hungry. But I blinking do this morning. And my tummy is making funny vibrating noise...

What tins do I have in the cupboard........


Update: By now (8 am) I discover some bungalows have electric power. Some don’t. No one has gas, that has been cut off too. Now it’s 10 am and no one has electricity or gas.

Go online. It is going to take longer for power to be restored. So new estimate is maybe have power later this afternoon....

I have eaten a tin of cold chicken in white sauce...

I am still hungry and want hot food and a hot cup of tea...I never feel hungry, but that nightmare which had this amazing food in it, but it disappeared and went dark in front of me made me hungry...

Because I have diabetes, my best way of controlling blood sugars is to eat the bulk of my food in the morning. I cannot open my fridge, where the food is that I can eat, nor the freezer, to use what is in there, otherwise I will lose the contents of the fridge, and the freezer.

So I need to go out and find something, because I have dentist this afternoon and I need to eat before I go there...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.