Hoverfly on Toadflax

I can't say that I was feeling very inspired today but I did manage to hoover the kitchen and bathroom floors and get the steam cleaner out, which I didn't have the nouse to switch on properly. So Len did the steam cleaning.

Aziz is closing the Berber Shop while he's away in August. Len, Basil and I will get a break from shop minding on Fridays. He's looking forward to doing nothing.

I was lucky to get this shot of a hoverfly when we returned from Loughborough. Intimations of Autumn as I left Morrisons at 7.30 pm. Golden light all around. Nights are drawing in.

Caught the episode of Killing Eve after the ten o clock news in which Vilanelle shoots Eve in some ancient Roman ruin. It's all rather surreal. Graphic depiction of cut throats but even the Beeb baulked at showing the guy cut open with an axe.

Have started reading Of Human Bondage by W Somerset Maugham, which I bought in The Old Curiosity Shop on Wednesday. It's a surprisingly easy read. I suppose it reflects the library of the 1950s and 60s. Goodness knows what people read nowadays, but I have read two International Booker recommendations this year, including the winner, Celestial Bodies.

Len and I have both started Night Boat to Tangier. Len finds it strange. I'm guessing it's a variation of Waiting for Godot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.