Candy chills out

Didn't get up until 1 pm. Len brought me breakfast in bed. I'd overdone it a bit on Saturday what with four (or was it five?) G&Ts at Colin's. He's very naughty egging me on to pour a bit more gin in the glass and then have one for the road.

As a result, I suddenly fell asleep in the early stages of Apocalypse Now not waking until 1am. Pity, I'd wanted to watch the film.

I enjoyed my lie in. I was able to finish another Montalbano mystery, Angelica's Smile. Commissario Montalbano is becoming increasingly unfaithful to his partner Livia.

Into the shower and hairwash as well. Then off to Morrisons in Loughborough with Basil to buy dinner. Basil stayed in the car protesting volubly. However, when I came out, I released Basil from the car and we walked along Blackbrook Way which follows the course of the Blackbrook. Three bridges later we passed under the A6 and found ourselves at the edge of the playing fields close to Dishley Pool.

While standing close to the stream, a chap skidded round the corner on his bike closely followed by his dog Candy. Apparently she's 16 years old and likes to come down to the stream to wade into the water and cool down. She's past the age of rushing about in the water. Basil merely watched.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.