Small Copper

A much better day for butterflies today at Moore Nature Reserve. It was very quiet - only one car in the carpark when I arrived at around 10am. 
After my recent issues with insect bites, I plastered my body with Skin So Soft, and also sprayed my open flesh with insect repellent. Do you think it worked? Did it fiddlesticks!!!  I am itching like mad now with a huge bite on my arm that I think might actually be from yesterday, and several bites on my legs which I think are from horseflies :( I saw a couple of them on my trousers at one stage and brushed them off). Very annoying.....

But, anyway, before the itching, I saw loads of butterflies, and lots of different varieties too which was wonderful. Today my blip is one I've not even seen this year, never mind blipped, and it is the lovely small copper. I also saw plenty of whites, meadow browns, gatekeepers, and speckled woods, and also a few peacocks, commas, common blues and small skippers. Surprisingly I didn't see one painted lady today.  I also saw a few dragonflies which was nice - the one in extras being my best shot. I think it's a common darter, but am happy to be corrected. 

I did a fair bit of catching up last night and hope to finish this evening - I've been missing so many wonderful shots, so I apologise for not being able to give out hearts where they are clearly deserved. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.