Childhood house

I drove up to Giggleswick today.  

I set the alarm for 0600, but was actually awake at about 5.30, so I got up and showered.  I had a leisurely breakfast and was out of the house before 8.  I stopped after about 2hrs for a second breakfast, then Google Maps usefully helped me to get around a delay caused by a crash.

I was just thinking about another stop as I passed by Bingley, and couldn't resist a trip along memory lane, and decided to have a look at my childhood home.  The window in the thumbnail was my bedroom window.  I parked up below the house, and was just going to take a few photos through the open gate, but a neighbour, who remembered my parents having been there when she moved in, encouraged me to call at the house.  

The current residents, who had bought the house in 1997 from my parents, have just sold, and will be moving out in September.  They were really friendly and invited me in to take a few photos.  Their decor was not really to my taste, but I was impressed by their restoration of the stair bannisters - see extra.  When we lived there, the newels were encased in a solid, painted boarding.  I recall dad saying he had tried to take it off at one time, and found the newels would need so much work he decided it wasn't worth his time.  The subsequent residents have done the necessary work to good effect.

Dad spent most of his evenings over a good many years patiently creating a hand knotted stair carpet.  They left it down when they sold the house, and apparently the current residents used it for a good number of years, but eventually found it too worn, and took it up.

I spent a good hour with these kind people, before continuing my journey to Giggleswick.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.