Transitoire

By Transitoire

It rained today. A lot.

What you do today is important, as you're exchanging a day of your life for it.

Mum said to me today that it sounds like it's more than boring at home when you read my French blips compared to my English ones...not true! Life here is a lot different, agreed, and once everyone goes back to work/university, my time here would be rather boring...but right now I just spend an afternoon, or morning with someone and our conversations are not going to be that interesting for all you reading this! Whereas in France I have very busy days in school, with new classes every hour and therefore having to see people in evening...using that as an addendum rather than the main subject.

So, what have I done today? I finally got round to updating my CV (about a year out of date right now), and managed to fit in the word "aplomb"...don't even ask! Even though I understand the necessity, I realised how uncomfortable I am bigging myself up and when I read it over I cringe slightly in embarrassment. I think it's the words and formulations you have to use! I don't think I could ever be in recruitment without wanting to climb up walls, it must be so boring reading the same things over and over again - "the skills I have gained...", "this has given me experience...", "developing my..." - but in this day and age it seems to be unavoidable.

My afternoon was spent with my Grandma Sylvia on a walk with Holly. As it has been raining so much the water has stopped draining away, leaving some very interesting settings for a photograph, which however are rather annoying to traverse! So lovely to spend time with her, while dodging showers, other dogs, people and puddles. Pretty much ever since I can remember Grandma Sylvia has lived round the corner, so I get to see her a lot...and I get on so well with her. She has a very interesting view on the world, and finds humour in everything...and gives some of the best and most practical advice out of anyone I know. She's stubborn too; more so than me...and anyone who knows me well enough will tell you how determined I am! I'm also so lucky to have my other Grandma so close as well, about half an hour away by car, and Grandma Peggy is one of the sweetest and most generous people I know. Can chat with almost everyone everyone, about any topic you could think of. When they are together it is like watching a double act, they bounce of each other humour-wise and no one else can get a word in edgeways!

The best way to describe them in a nutshell is their reaction to hearing a lot of my friends are gay.
Grandma Sylvia: "Must be really hard for them to come out of the wardrobe"...closet, Grandma, they come out of the closet, but will definitely do!
Grandma Peggy: "Oh they were all gay on the ship to Malaysia, nothing new there!"


My grandmas, what can I say?! Going to miss all my family...the countdown begins for the journey to France. Three days to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.