Transitoire

By Transitoire

Days and nights out

One day at a time, this is enough. Don't look back and grieve over the past for it is gone. Do not be troubled about the future, for it has yet to come. Live in the present and make it so beautiful that it will be worth remembering.

A friend showed me this video today...a beautiful song, and as he said, a "surprisingly moving" music video. Well worth a watch.

Hilarious experience on the train...ended up speaking to a random man, as you do. One of those where you don't really want to talk to them, but they want to talk to you. When he asked me where I lived I came out with the panic answer of France (well, I do!) to which his answer was "you sound almost fluent", although I hadn't yet "got the common language". What?! So rather than denying it I decided to take it further, and said that people had told me I had a Northern accent to which he replied I had more of a French accent than a Northern one. No words.

Ended up having a coffee with Luke and Tim, studiously avoiding the gaze of an old school teacher that we all didn't like much, and catching up generally on life. They both laughed at my New Year's Resolution. We shall see. This was followed by a visit to the beer shop (The Ship in the Bottle) for the bit of our evening where we pretended to know the slightest bit about the alcohol we were drinking. The shop sells mainly locally brewed beers from the various microbreweries around Liverpool, and I sampled the Mersey Ale, described as "a strong ruby ale" that is "rich and malty with a sweet finish". Very much lived up to the description given, lovely.

Balancing between adulthood and student life, think we did a bit of both for our meal at Luke's house. After being joined by Alice everyone joined in to create lemon stuffed chicken with lemon and rosemary potatoes, carrot and swede mash, honeyed parsnips and home-made gravy. Sounds a lot harder than it actually is to make. When I wasn't doing my set tasks, I ended up taking photographs of proceedings, hence this photograph of Luke and Alice.

Yes, Luke is chopping up a swede with an axe as Alice looks on amazedly worriedly proudly (?!). If you have a look by Alice's arm, you will see a blur of a slice swede jettisoning to the floor! Again mix of student/adult...and the most effective way to chop a swede is in fact with an axe. Who knew? But to stop any future visits to casualty, this will probably not be happening again...

Ended up again playing games rather than just talking...this time it was Alice's game of names. So, everyone writes down the names of people, and then you split into teams and have to guess who your partner is describing. Round two your partner has to mime the same names. Round three you have one descriptive word. A very entertaining game...although Alice's mum came up a lot! We were then joined by James and Dominic, Alice went home to bed and the rest of us went out. Yes I was indeed the token female, lucky I'm used to it by now! We then went to the faculty and met up with yet more men, the rowers...testosterone was definitely high, but a very lovely night nevertheless. When we finally got home, we ended up talking until sunrise over cups of tea.

Will regret this tomorrow. Two days to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.