Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Freak out - at Maximum height

Buzz here was at 120 metres looking back over Newie.  That is the maximum height I can fly at without my remote pilots licence.  All was going well until I heard a light plane. The airspace I am in here is such that I have to bring the drone in if there are any other aircraft in the area.  A return to home is the quickest way so that was dispatched but then I lost the signal on the controller.  Yikes.  Buzz came back and was hovering at 30 metres but I couldn't control him at all.  I had no idea what to do and this had never happened before.  I moved closer, played with the antenna but no go.  Crikey  I was imaging Buzz crashing as eventually the battery would go and I was not sure whether he would land.  Where he was hovering was over a steep slope which meant an unhappy landing in my books.  I rebooted the controller, something that was a bit risky but it reconnected and I managed to land him just before his battery gave out.  So, has any other remote pilots had this issue and what did you do?  I have done a bit of googling on the topic but am not sure about the answers.

Anyhoo, many thanks to 60plus for hosting MM this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.