UNTIL WE MEET AGAIN

We enjoyed our last morning with Sue, when we just sat and chatted - her train back to Yorkshire was at 11.40 so we left our house at 11.00 and got to the station in plenty of time.  We just hope that the trains are on time because the last bus out to a village close to where she lives is at 5.30 p.m. so time is of the essence, as they say.  The trouble is that she still has to walk a mile and a half when she gets off the bus!

Only when she was about to walk off with her suitcase did I remember we hadn’t had a photograph taken of her and Mr. HCB, so not even thinking of the background, I took several shots, only to find when she had gone that she had a pole sticking out of the top of her head!  Ah well, hopefully you will be concentrating so much on both her and Mr. HCB that you won’t even notice!

We have had a great time, remembering things we did together almost fifty years ago and laughing as we remembered - we have such treasured memories and the time just flew by.  Yesterday, when our son, Martyn, brought Mr. HCB home from cricket, they were able to meet up, which was great as they probably haven't seen each other for well over 20 years.

Mr. HCB then dropped me off in town and I had a mooch around, after popping into the library, but didn’t see anything I liked in the amazing number of sales that promised “70% off” - as most of the stuff seemed to be “tatty and grotty”, but when I got to Debenhams, I got my “bargain of the day”.  I had been looking for some glasses - the drinking sort - that weren’t as thick around the top as the ones we already have, because now I am drinking mostly water all day, thick glasses aren’t that pleasant to drink from.  

I picked up a box of Jasper Conran beer glasses - although Mr. HCB thinks they are more like lager glasses - “half pinters” on a short stem, to see that they had been reduced from £22 to £11, then to £6.60 because one of the four was broken.  On top of the box it said “30% off lowest marked price” so after checking with a lady who was in the Glass Department, I took them over to the till where I was charged £4.62 for three glasses that have lovely thin rims and make drinking water so much more pleasant - so as they should have been £5.50 each, a total of £16.50, I reckon that’s a bargain!

“True friends don’t say good-bye, 
     they just take extended 
          leaves of absences 
               from each other.”
Anon

P.S.  Thanks again for all your kind comments and stars - hopefully I will soon be back to commenting now our visitor has gone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.