GIRLIE DAY OUT IN MARLBOROUGH

Mr. HCB was going off to cricket at Bristol with our older son, Martyn, so Sue and I decided that we would have a “Girlie Day Out” in Marlborough, so after she had been out for a walk, off we went.

We meandered through the Wiltshire countryside taking the road past White Horse Hill at Hackpen, but sadly it was rather dreary and grey.  However, I did manage to take a selfie of us both, which you can see in the collage.  I thought I had better put a photograph of us in as you may have thought Sue was a “figment of my imagination”! 

When we arrived in Marlborough, we decided to park in the large car park rather than walking down from the Common.  We were delighted to find that parking charges were suspended on a Sunday so when several other people also came to look at the parking machine whilst we were there checking, both Sue and I broke into a song, “This is my lovely lucky day”, which made them smile - so a bonus for all of us.

We went through to the town centre past the River Kennet and came out just along the road from Rick Stein’s Restaurant, so having looked at the menu, decided that we would try it - Sue had Beetroot hummus with halloumi, quinoa and summer vegetables and I had lamb cutlets with tomato and watercress with kale cooked with garlic as a side dish.  We were very good and both declined a dessert!

After our lunch, we went for some retail therapy and Sue was delighted when she was able to buy several birthday presents and also a dress and blouse - I asked her to pose outside one of the “very pink” shops, Willow & Wolf and she looks rather good.  All I bought was some whole black peppercorns in Waitrose!  Perhaps next time for me.

We are now at home, with our feet up and having a cuppa - Mr. HCB has just rung to say they are about to leave Bristol, but was rather upset because apparently, there was a controversial decision and the other team won the match.  Guess we will hear all about it when they arrive.

All in all, a lovely day - we will be sad to see Sue go home tomorrow, but we have made some wonderful memories together.  Oh, I nearly forgot, I almost got myself a job - in one of the up-market bookshops in Marlborough, they were advertising for a “Mature lady to work all day on Saturday” - but I decided against applying - I like my free weekends!

“Shopping is a woman thing - 
     it's a contact sport like football.
Women enjoy the scrimmage, 
     the noisy crowds, 
          the danger of being trampled to death, 
               and the ecstasy of the purchase.” 
Erma Bombeck

P.S.  Thank you again for all your kind comments and stars for my Silly Saturday shot - hopefully I will be back commenting very soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.