Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Getting to know Xena

Last night I offered to sleep downstairs next to Xena's crate as I knew Gavin was tired from doing it for the previous 3 nights. However he insisted on doing it but when Xena woke up at 1am and howled the house down, he managed to sleep right through the noise (as he was very tired) and so I spent a good while with her trying to settle her and then of course by the time I went back to bed I could not sleep so last night was not a good night for me. I think she was hungry as she has not been eating enough, and that is why she woke up. 

Today I left Thomas in charge of Xena, so he could spend time getting to know her, and I went grocery shopping. I also bought some goats milk as I have read that it is very good for dogs, if they need to put on a bit of weight. For her lunch I gave her a tiny bit and she lapped it up and loved it!

Xena is definitely much more settled, knows her name and comes when called, she loves her crate and takes herself in there during the day to sleep. Today she ate so much better, slept better and was more adventurous playing in the garden so used up more energy. She seems to like biting my flowers off and chewing them and then spitting them out again! When I see her do this I remove them from her mouth, as so many plants are poisonous to dogs. She also does not cry anymore when I leave the room - definitely progress!

I wanted to take a photo of Thomas and Xena today, as when Murdoch died all the boys wanted me to give them copies of photos I had taken of them with Murdoch, and I did not have as many as I thought of the individual boy with the dog. However, Thomas found her a bit wriggly and so we could not get a decent photo of the two of them - I will try again! An extra of her lying in the sun, with eyes as green as the grass in that sunlight.

Let's hope tonight goes better, I really cannot cope on the 3 hours sleep I had last night....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.