Expressionless

I went to see the new Lion King movie in 3D this evening. I thought the animation was incredible, surpassing what I had imagined. I see the film has been criticised for lack of emotion, as the producers wanted to be faithful to the natural behaviour of animals. It’s such an iconic film that not having humanised facial expressions didn’t bother me in the slightest.

The two most emotional parts of the film are arguably Mufasa dying in the gorge and the wily baboon engineering for Simba to see his father’s image in the water then sky. (by the way ‘He Lives In You’ which is the song that accompanies this scene in the longer stage version is the best of the whole score). These were not the moments to be enjoying a pummelling in my back and some incoherent babbling from a child behind. His mother was frightfully apologetic. It detracted a little but I still really enjoyed it.

I believe these on the right were once functioning cross-trainers at this beachfront outdoor gym. The benches on the left could still be used for sit-ups but I would only advise it if in possession of a valid tetanus jab.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.