Stacked.

Now that's what I call a good start to the year. Woke up this morning with only the most mild of fuzzy heads and made M and I a stack of pancakes with bacon and maple syrup, and LOTS of strong Norwegian coffee. After a relaxed start to the day, mainly consisting of being horizontal on the sofa in front of Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, M and I headed to the beach in the hope of a New Year's surf... But the wave-gods weren't playing ball, so we had a nice windy walk instead. When we got home, I made some mince pies and started on a slow-cooked beef filling for the traditional New Year's Day beef pie (is that just a Scottish thing? My Scottish Granny used to do it every year) before

M and I popped over to his Mum and Dad's to witness their hangovers (they were disappointingly perky). This day last year, I was celebrating New Year with friends in Banchory, and M was offshore. It's good to have him home for good :)

We had another chilled out evening with a bottle of New Year's Moet and the beef pie (even my pastry worked out well for once!) and watched some TV. It's been a brilliant festive period, but I wish Mum and Dad could have enjoyed it with us. Mum's still not feeling very good, so Dad's taking her back to the doctor's tomorrow. This will have been her 5th day on antibiotics and her chest infection still hasn't improved at all. Dad seems to be doing a very good job of looking after her, though, and even bought in a beef pie from Markies to keep up their Ne'er Day tradition like us. Sending her lots of love to help her feel better soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.