On Reflection - Stromness Day 6

It was a dramatic departure for the 6:30am ferry to Scrabster this morning as it emerged from its berth gliding silently through a pervasive haar which cloaked Hamnavoe reducing visibility to a hundred yards. Eventually, during the morning, it lifted to reveal still water and clear reflections.

I spent the morning in the wonderful Stromness Library which looks out over the harbour and I couldn’t fail to see the parade of tourist buses arriving from the cruise ships anchored at Kirkwall and the tourist spilling out in numbers to wander the street in Stromness before getting back on the buses and whisked away to see more sights. At least the numbers involved are considerably fewer than those in Edinburgh which is a relief.

I went for a walk round the coast this afternoon and got caught out by a sudden shower of rain which managed to soak me before I could wrestle my raincoat out of my rucksack. It was nice to get back and dry off.

The mist has descended again and it looks a bit dreich, but I’m happy to sit with my knitting and watch the harbour traffic pass by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.