Orkney Day 7

Today seems to have passed in a blur of activity which is just as well given that the weather has reverted to bog standard Orkney weather.

There was a quick bus run into Kirkwall to collect a book I had requested from the library- The Tattooist of Auschwitz, if you must know.
I took the opporchancity of proximity offered to visit the Lolz café, run by the wife of someone I met on the boat from Aberdeen. Her scones were not to be ignored however much I resisted.

Back to Stromness to be picked up by a man in a car who hijacked me to Creel Cottage where the current Mrs Creel was waiting to feed me with a marvellous meal, sufficient in quantity and quality, that may well not need me to eat for the remaining duration of the holiday. The waiter at the meal appears in my extra image. Sufficient to say he had me in stitches most of the time as he plied me with drink, even offering me a sip of his whisky. No greater love hath a man for his guest than to offer her his valuable usquabae even if she didn’t appreciate it.

After tea there was a drive to look at a preview of handiwork for the Dounby Show tomorrow. Needless to say IainatCreel came into his own and was a big hit with the ladies present, as seen in the second and third extra.

A fun filled day finished off nicely with a phone call to Poppy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.