Spot the Bunny

From the very first baby rabbit that sought shelter behind a flower pot on our patio about 6 years ago we are now overrun with its descendants.I have no idea where that first one came from since rabbits have never featured in the Meadows area. I suspect someone caught one and set it free on this side of the railings, thought to give it a friend and the rest is history.

Since the ground is solid rock, the rabbits have found it difficult to burrow, and have found homes under the decking of the new flats. As I came back from a walk this morning, I notice this baby bunny at the entrance of a new burrow under one such patio.

I had a very welcome socially distanced visit from JoppaStrand later in the morning. I haven’t seen him since before lockdown so we had a lot of chat to fit in the hour’s parking he managed to secure at enormous expense on the road outside. Hopefully I can meet up with him and Tiggy again soon.

There was a quick turn around to meet up with my fellow walking widows for a chaste cup of tea and biscuit. This is a fairly new triumvirate and I have a feeling that fairly soon some cheeky little glass of wine will be introduced into these Friday afternoons, especially as the TGIF drinkies with the neighbours has been temporarily suspended because the hotel venue is not playing ball with non residents.

The police are on special patrol this weekend to prevent any unruly gatherings in the Meadows and Portobello beach. So far they have twice walked past without breaking stride, a large gathering on the other side of the railings of what looks like older school children who don’t know the meaning of the phrase ‘social distancing’ and don’t seem to have homes to go to. So far, pointless.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.