Spot the Moon

As summer days in Scotland go it has been wonderful although not quite the overbearing heatwave predicted for the south of England. Still, 20° is not to be sniffed at and the slight cooling breeze was welcome when sitting in the sun became overly hot.

The sky was a beautiful shade of blue from sunrise and the sun shone like a searchlight, blinding me as I rode forth on two wheels this morning. It’s a quandary for me deciding whether to cycle early on empty roads in order to dodge potholes without being mown down by passing traffic but knowing that the rising sun in a cloudless sky is at angle that gets under the rim of my helmet and will blind me so that I can’t see the potholes. It’s probably best to admit defeat on the early cycling front, admire the day from a seat on the patio and wait for a cloudier day to pedal.

However having survived the sun and the potholes I have spent most of the day on the patio reading an Ann Patchett book which I have found hard to put down. After all, tomorrow it may be raining.

A walk into Princes Street at some point to buy fruit produced this blip of the moon in a cloudless sky above the castle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.