Throw this for me, please...

Claire has been in this house for two summers now. The first one was very hot and very dry, and this one has also been very dry, even if the heat has mostly stayed further south in Europe. Since Claire is a keen and skillful gardener she has used a lot of water over these two summers and since our water is metered this can get expensive.
With the delta of the Umeå river at the bottom of Claire's garden the answer is nearby. About 100 meters of heavy duty flexible hose and a fairly powerful pump should have solved the problem, but the first attempt didn't work and we were now going to adjust the positioning of everything.
So today I was wading around in the knee-deep and rather warm water, getting ready for a big push tomorrow. Rusty was helping by digging up waterlogged lengths of timber from the mud at the bottom of the river, and then dropping them on my feet, expecting me to throw them for him, which I didn't.
The job was more tiring than I thought and while Jan later explored a giant charity shop I snoozed in the car.
(To be continued tomorrow)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.