Rock

I gave the one fringe performer I know the pick of my two-for-one tickets. And did she know what she was doing! We met up this morning for Belgian Theatre Company, Ontroerend Goed's Are we not drawn onward to new erA. No spoilers, so if you're in Edinburgh, and think theatre has any purpose at all, get to Zoo Southside and see it. Early on I was distressed, a third of the way in I understood, half-way in I realised what the incomprehensible language was, all through the second half I was agape and at the end I was shaken. I think theatre has several purposes and this play is right up at the top of them. By far the best thing I have seen here.

Hard for anything else to get a look in. Impromptu Shakespeare: a light bit of cleverness; Anguis: tediously incomprehensible; Zoe Coombs: WFT and I walked out.

But Bryony Kimmings's I'm a Phoenix, Bitch was a superb performance. The story of multiple crises that hit her three years ago (post-natal breakdown, caring for and worrying about her severely sick child, the end of the relationship with her child's father) and, crucially, her recovery, was told through drama, song, video, re-enactment in a model of the house where it happened, inner monologue... If that sounds gimmicky, it's not. It's a phenomenal skill to enable an audience to see something of psychosis from the inside without ever feeling frightened or threatened.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.