Big leaf schefflera.

A blustery day today - my 'garden' is rather exposed if the wind blows from the NE, and several of the potted shrubs sitting waiting to have a garden have blown over during the night. 

This very special Schefflera macrophylla  was grown from seed  collected on his first plant hunting trip to North Vietnam by my late friend Jamie Taggart. As I'm sure I've mentioned before, he failed to return from his second trip and his body was only found and brought home more than two years later. Sadly his father, Dr James Taggart, died last month - both good friends and superb plantsmen.

This plant is very vulnerable to wind so I moved it round to the back of the house where it's slightly more protected. In time it will be planted out,  down the slope a bit nearer the road where there's more shelter.

It's certainly a very striking shrub!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.