Slow but sure

Another sunny day - my builder/neighbour began the process of building a new block wall below my bank by cutting the concrete path. I'm hoping he will continue so I can begin to think about gardening!

Back at the rhododendron show in May I bought a packet of seed of Piptanthus nepalensis, the so-called Himalayan laburnum, a beautiful hardy shrub with yellow flowers. I can't remember when I sowed them, but I did so in a plastic tub on the kitchen windowsill. I'd counted the seeds - there were 26! A couple of seedlings eventually germinated and I carefully levered them out and potted them. Over the next weeks and months more gradually came up, and I kept potting them so I could put the lid back on the tub. Today I thought it would be fun to use them as a Blip, showing the latest seedling to emerge in the tub to the first one I'd potted a while ago. One was eaten by a slug, another I broke the root of, so the total germinated so far is 22. Four more yet to show! I've never known anything to germinate over such a length of time!

If anyone nearby wants one later on, just let me know!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.