Weather Day

I suppose it has been a typical Friday. Some deskwork in the morning, and otherwise a bit lazy.

The weather was a factor when it came to choices - it rained cats and dogs until early afternoon. It will be a factor for the rest of the weekend, as I try to figure what might be possible outdoors. Not much, I suspect. 

I did get out for a coffee mid afternoon, by which time the sun was coming out. I enjoyed hanging about at the end of Dysart pier for a while. 

Unfortunately the feel good factor was short lived. On my way back to the car I had to intervene in a rather nasty incident. A man was walking his two terriers off the lead and they attacked a woman’s springer spaniel. He had no control over them at all. She managed to get between them and her dog, at some risk to herself, and started remonstrating with him. One of his dogs was still off the lead, he could not catch it, and it was still trying to get at her spaniel. 

He started shouting and swearing aggressively at her, and only stopped when I intervened. Unfortunately I did not have my phone with me to call the police, but usually you can’t get a signal there anyway. 

It was quite strange to see a 60 something man behave so aggressively in public to a woman about the same age, when he was 100% in the wrong. I didn’t hear what she said to him, but suspect it was nothing more than telling him to get his dog under control.

I don’t think he was going to assault her, but he was right in her face, and that was when I intervened - so who knows. He disappeared very quickly once I told him what I thought of him. 

I have been on the receiving end of that kind of aggression from dog owners myself when out running or cycling, or they just let the dogs snap at you and have a laugh about it. 

On a more positive note, I bumped into one of Junior’s friends in the supermarket and he told me Junior has been posting stuff on Facebook from Montréal (quite close to the part of New York where he is working). Good to know he is alive and well and not needing money

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.