Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Blooming Again!

I've never had this happen before....my Christmas Amaryllis bloomed in the summer!  When it was finished blooming around the holidays, I cut it down and put the pot outside and forgot about it.  I actually put it out to get it out of my way and intended to bring it in and put it in a dark place and then try to grow it again around Thanksgiving.  So, there it was outside during the freezing weather and snow, then the hot summer days with no attention at all.  It was in a corner of the deck where we store snow shovels so it was easy not to notice it.  Then, one day a few weeks ago, Pipersdad noticed a green stalk emanating from the bulb so we gave it some water and now it looks like this!   I've included a close up of one of the flowers in my extra.  Many thanks to BikerBear for hosting Flower Fridays!

I think I will cut it down again when it's finished blooming but this time I'll put the bulb in a cool dark place and let it rest until November and then replant it (inside).  It will be interesting to see if it will bloom again!  Stay tuned....

I am grateful to the scheduler who helped me get an appointment today for a test my doctor ordered.  There were no openings until the 28th of August but she went the extra mile and found a way to get me in.  It's so nice to work with someone who really tries to help!  Thanks again, Diana!!

I'm going to start to get caught up on your journals tonight.  I should get to everyone's before the weekend is over! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.