Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Neolithic Nesting Place

I headed over to Avebury today to take in the sights covering nearly 6000 years from a Neolithic tomb, built around 3650BC, to Avebury Manor, built in the 16th Century, with its "hands on" room displays from the Tudor, Queen Anne, Georgian, Victorian and 20th century created by a collaboration between the BBC and owners, the National Trust, for the TV series "The Manor Reborn", which aired in December 2011.

While investigating the church, something sped by my head with a loud chirrup, and high up in the porch I saw a nest with a row of heads looking out (extra). 

Later, I visited the West Kennet Long Barrow, a Neolithic chambered tomb a couple of miles from Avebury.  I had an LED light with me, and was using it to investigate the tomb when I caught bright eyes in the beam - I had found another nest.  I quickly doused the light, upped the ISO and managed to take this shot hand held (so a little soft and grainy), while the parent(s) ducked in and out to feed their young while avoiding / ignoring the other visitors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.