Working!

I do like spots or fog lights on my bike and I have shopped around on the internet for weeks browsing all sorts of lights. Liked the look of many but none of them did a bracket fixing large enough to fit the bar that has my indicators on.
Came across a pair which fitted the bill and thought they were worth a try as they were a mere £10.55. They did fit but then the only problem is that they come with a switch so that had me scratching my head as to where the two wires from the switch go!
There are also two wires from each spotlight but that was easy and I just soldered both black wires together and also the red wires.
I asked my friends on the RBL Riders facebook page and someone came back and said that the switch wires are both '+ve' so that made sense then. 
One wire to the +ve battery terminal with a fuse in-line and the other soldered to the +ve (red) wires of the lamps.
Black wires of the lamps, which I already soldered together, I ran back to near the battery and attached them to a bolt on the frame of the bike so that they were connected to a -ve ground, which is usual on vehicles (but not always so check!). It's why you attach the black wire of jump leads to the body and not the battery.
So another lesson learnt today, and they work, and so does the switch I'm happy to say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.