No problem

So of course I needn't have worried about everything to do with today's brunch, because in the end it was fine.  I decided that I looked better without the makeup and chose something presentable to wear.  Only five of us showed up, and three of the others also wore casual clothing.  The woman who organized the meeting was perfectly made-up and exquisitely dressed, but talked constantly in a very loud voice that could be heard by anyone else anywhere in the restaurant.  As predicted, I was the oldest there by many years - I think the next oldest was about 35.  Two of them work for Amazon, one for Microsoft, and they all started off in banking right out of graduation.  Apparently the recruiters from financial institutions gather round the graduates and snatch them up - certainly not my experience.  We talked about what we might like the group to do, and my suggestion was that we might all take a free online course and meet to discuss it.  There is a marvelous Harvard course called "Justice" that I've been wanting to take for a long time, but it's no fun doing it on my own. We talked about other sorts of social gatherings as well.  The organizer will send out an Email to the much longer list to see what others think and what times would work for them to meet.

Afterward I went to Lex and Doug's house for dinner, and it was comfortable enough to eat outside on the patio.  This is my latest photo of their hydrangea, which have changed drastically since my last blip of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.