If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Mud, Mud Glorious mud.

So goes the first line of the Flanders and Swann Hippopotamus song.  Usually I feel having to prep the lodge means I am missing out, today I thought I had got the best job.  The rain had hammered on the caravan roof all night.  When I set off to the car water was standing a couple of inches deep on the grass.

As I drove back towards Penrith the weather improved and while I worked at the Lodge the sun shone at times.  An early message about a sale made me think things must be the same in Dalston.

Wrong.    I drove into the area where trade vehicle were allowed and parked on tarmac.   I was more than a little surprised the public car aprk was empty while the field across the road was full of cars.  I turned the corner to be greeted by a sea of ankle deep mud (glad I had my wellies on).  The rain was falling steadily as I plodded my way to the stand.  I found out then it had rained all day.

The blip is the view from the stand, where the mud isn't too bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.