Big Hill

By bighill

Down by the pond...

I've been home now for over a week and it has been interesting getting my rhythm back.   i have a bit of a crunch on in terms of getting some pottery on the shelves....being gone for those 2 weeks right in the middle of the busiest time of year, means at least 1 glaze kiln load that didn't get made!  so the shelves are very sparse and i have a market to attend next week so i've been working my little ass off getting pots made to be fired very soon!   I have basically been in the studio for the past 5 days non stop....on my new rhythm mind you, but still a lot of work to be done....and i'm loving being there.   listening to my music and just being in my own space!   there have been many visitors making the shelves even more sparse...this is a good thing...and i've even sold 4 of my paintings in the studio!   That was such a thrill!   Also sold a bigger painting at the gallery the day before i got home and that also makes me very happy.   This just gives me a bit more confidence to believe that maybe there are people out there that are willing to part with their hard earned cash for one of my paintings...still kinda blows my mind!   It just all translates into me feeling free to spend more money on art supplies!

We have also had Terry's family with us since 2 days after i returned....so it's been a bit hectic.   His daughter Jessica is here from BC for 10 days and Randy  is here for about 8 days.  Max was also here for the weekend....it has been lovely to watch them all interact!  

The intensity of my 2 weeks in Ontario did leave me pretty exhausted when i finally got home last tuesday.   What a delight it was to find Terry at the airport and then to arrive home and sit on our deck and listen to the very loud sounds of SILENCE!   totally amazing.   i seem to have lost my ability to cope with continuous noise and stimulation....not surprising having lived in the country for the past 30 years!!!   But of course there were such wonderful highlights in the city!   Going to the AGO with my dear friend Lynne, that was wonderful.  eating amazing and exotic food....i really loved that part....and just hanging out with Lynne and Ivor after long days.....happily watching netflix together while eating our take out dinners!   good things with good old friends...nothing like it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.