John's farm

Travelling over to TJs for a quick card meeting I decided to risk the short cut. The turn I took wasn't the right one and I had a spectacular route across the mountain. The road was minute, winding, with greenery growing in the middle. The grasses were orange and a few sheep were all I saw. I did pass this house though, tucked snugly into the hillside. An old farmer and his dog live here - you meet him whenever walking in the hills above. The dog is vicious but he is interested and interesting. The house is one of the few to still have no electricity. I think it was built in the late 19C, one of the new schemes to provide improved accomodation of rural dwellers. I'd like a peek inside.

TJ and I did her farm walk, accompanied by Mama dog and Rachel. Even on a misty murky day such as today, the views are sublime. We then admired her illustrious ancestry which she can now trace back to the one of the first Saxons to arrive in Britain! Honestly!! Loads of kings and queens and nobility litter her tree - I must look harder amongst the rabbit catchers in mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.