Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

The purity of forms

30 Days of Composition: form or shape.

Today I was meeting my grandson down by the lake and I knew where I could capture the best shapes and forms down there. Then we took the steam boat to Vevey, a nearby town along the lake.

I love the simplicity and purity of the elegant weather-vane in Ouchy. I also like how the partial view of the dark granite rock on the left echoes the form.  The weather vane changes directions with the wind and there are four different shaped, cut-out granite blocks representing the four different winds which blow in this area.

Besides the shape of the stone and the weather vane, we can see the softer shapes of the mountains and the rounded shapes of the rocks on the jetty.

We had a lovely day out together and visited a museum in the town of Vevey, which shows the history of photography.

The world's first photograph, or at least the oldest surviving photo, was taken by Joseph Nicéphore Niéce, a Frenchman, in 1826 or 1827.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.