Emma D's diary

By EmmaDrabble

At home: What did you call me?

This is my one of my favourite cockerels in my chicken pen. I bred him and his girls as an experiment. His mother was an Aracana chicken. The Aracana is a chicken that lays blue eggs. The Aracana hen is expensive to buy much like any hen that either lays pure white, blue or dark brown eggs. My plan last year was to breed Arcana crossed with a White Sussex. The White Sussex lays white eggs. So the Aracana X Sussex should lay a bluey white egg?

The good news is that it worked. They have started laying blue eggs! I think my mixed breed improvement because the White Sussex is a great little layer.

I keep other cockerels and hens. See my blipfoto album for their portraits too. My French Maran is so tame and a real fun cockerel to own. He is an expensive breed too. I also like breeding smaller chickens which lay tiny white eggs. These are Dutch or Belguim bantams. There is a very posy picture of my Little Dutch Cockerel too x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.