At Hoarwithy: delicate village...

The houses in Hoarwithy stand as if their feet have already got wet. They are retreating up the bank side away from the rising river water.

To see houses perched on such a steep slope you would think that this village has always stood a risk of flooding. This is just what happens here. The rest of Herefordshire is squirming as the water level laps at their toes. In Hoarwithy poeple seem remarkably calm. I pass a removal trunk, reversed, clutch burning up the steep driveway. I smile. The water lever is only feet from the end of the drive, and they are unloading belongings.

This house, so close to the waters edge. Not a sand bag in sight. I hear someone singing in the up stairs bathroom as I walk past. I smile...... x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.