Stevens Shots

By StevenC44

Setting of for Shetland

I spent the weekend in Shetland (a small-ish island in the very north of Scotland, search it on Google to see where if you don’t know!) , and I’ll be doing a few back-blips, as I didn’t have great internet at the time!

Today, I took a bus trip to Edinburgh, then through to Glasgow, then up to Aberdeen... for you non-Scots, that’s about 6-7 hours of bus travel! There’s a by-election happening in Shetland for the Scottish Parliament, and the youth wing of my party is paying for a group of us to go up and help campaign - its a historically very strong Liberal Democrat stronghold, but we’re throwing a lot at it!

Driving up we were caught in extremely stormy weather. We set off from Aberdeen in grey, wet weather. We had dinner on board, which about 30 minutes later we realised was a massive mistake... the ship was very rocky, and most of the group were feeling very ill - we had to cancel a meeting after about 10 minutes as most people were too sick to continue! We didn’t even have cabins to relax in - we had what’s called ‘sleeping pads’ which is basically a room full of reclining chairs. I avoided being sick (most of my friends weren’t so lucky), though felt awful for most of the journey. It was hellish!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.